About Indonesia

Indonesia is an island country located in Southeast Asia and Oceania. It has almost 2 million square kilometers of land area (15th place in the world) consisting of 17508 islands of the Malay Archipelago with the population of over 250 million inhabitants (4th place in the world). This island country situated between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean extends along the Equator on the length of more than five thousand km. The largest islands are Sumatra, Java, Borneo, Sulawesi (Celebes) and New Guinea (western part of the island).

Jakarta is the main city and the capital situated on the island of Java with nearly 10 million inhabitants. The country is divided into 34 provinces (propinsi) which are divided into regencies (kabupaten) which in turn divide into districts (kecamatan).

The country is extremely rich in mineral resources due to its location at the junction of three tectonic plates and high volcanic activity. There are many metals such as tin, copper, aluminum, nickel, iron, gold and silver but also many other metals of great importance for the industry including rare earth metals.

The country also has significant energy (crude oil, coal and natural gas) and natural (vegetable) resources which makes it one of the world’s leading producers of timber, rubber, cocoa and palm oil.

The country’s climate is very tropical, humid and hot but more moderate in mountain areas situated on the main islands.


About the island of Sulawesi

The island of Sulawesi (formerly known as Celebes) covers an area of over 174 thousand square kilometers and is the 11th world’s largest island. The land is mostly mountainous and covered with evergreen rain forests. The island is crossed by the Equator so that most of it is located in the southern hemisphere.

Its territory is divided into 6 administration provinces inhabited by over 18 million inhabitants.

There are large deposits of nickel ore discovered in 1901 by the Dutch explorer Kruyt. The area has the largest Indonesian nickel ore mining and processing facilities including the Sorowoko investment in the province of Center Sulawesi. The Sorowoko investment is owned by the Vale crude concern from South America through its subsidiary PT Vale Indonesia.


About the Central Sulawesi Province

Palu is the capital of the Central Sulawesi province (Propinsi Sulawesi Tengah). The province covers an area of over 61 thousand square kilometers and is inhabited by approx. 2.8 million people which live in 12 regencies of the province.

About the Morowali Regency

The Morowali Regency (Kabupaten Morowali) is located in the south-east edge of the Central Sulawesi province with its capital in Bungku. Its area covers over 15 thousand square kilometers inhabited by 200 thousand inhabitants. The regency is divided into 14 districts which include the Bungku Selatan district (Kecamatan Bungku Selatan) with the village of Lamontoli near which the concession area belonging to PT Sinar Bintang Perkasa is located.